Skip Navigation LinksStudent-Council

Student Council

Operating under the Vice Rector's Office for Student Affairs, Eastern Mediterranean University Student Council is a non-profit and non-political organisation aiming to cater for students' educational, cultural and research as well as health and sports-related needs and demands.

Faculty, school and Foreign Languages and English Preparatory School representatives are determined through elections. Elected representatives, then, choose the faculty representatives, again through the method of election. A representative from international students is also elected and EMU Student Executive Board is formed, accordingly.

The mission of the Student Council Executive Board is to conduct solution-targeted research and evaluation regarding education, research and student services, present the findings to the relevant units and observe the implementation of solution-targeted actions. The aforesaid Board is also responsible for communicating student problems, views and opinions to primarily to the Rector's Office and other administrative organs of the university, representing the students via the chair or vice chair in Senate or University Executive Board meetings without voting rights, coordinating the operations and activities of the Student Council Executive Board and all student representatives with the University and, if necessary, receiving the approval of the university for certain areas of practice and carrying out all operations in accordance with the TRNC constitution and other regulations in effect.

Başbuğ Kurtbey Duru Chair Medical Imaging Techniques School of Health Services
Mehmet Zeki Arslan Vice-Chair Pharmacy Faculty of Pharmacy
Meryem Lordoğlu General Secretary Psychology Faculty of Arts&Sciences
Yusuf Yıldız Financial Affairs Industrial Engineering Faculty of Engineering
Safa Erdoğan Disciplinary Board Representative Law Faculty of Law
Adeviye Ezgi Su Tezcan Member Elementary Education Faculty of Education
Arda Edebali Member Dental Medicine Faculty of Dentistry
Dilara Aydın Member Public Relations and Advertising Faculty of Communication and Media Studies
Öykü Küsmez Member Interior Architecture Faculty of Architecture
Gürkan Ülker Member Political Sciences and International Relations Faculty of Business and Economics
Barış Ali Ömer Member Medicine Faculty of Medicine
Mehmet Karaıslı Member Preparatory Foreign Languages and English Preparatory School
Eskender Araia Kidane Member Information Systems and Technologies School of Computing and Technology
Madina Baghirova Foreign Student Representative Psychology Faculty of Arts&Sciences

EMU Websites